Great Def Poem from a fatherless son

This is probably the first time we’ve written about poetry at The Men’s Network.

This link was shared with us by Mark Walsh at Brighton-based Integration Training and we love it so much we want to share it with as many people as possible.

It’s a powerful piece of Def Poetry by Daniel Beatty an award-winning actor, singer and writer who skillfully combines music, movement, and words.

What we love about this short poem – called ‘Knock Knock’ – is that it shares the heartache of a boy who loses the  father he loves and mentors himself to manhood in a way that both honours himself and his father’s greatness – inspite of the mistakes his father made.

“Knock, knock for me, for as long as you are free, these prison gates can not contain my spirit, the best of me still lives in you. Knock, knock with the knowledge that you are my son, but you are not my choices…………”

As one reviewer said:

“Powerful for any boy who ever grew up to be a man without the strong hand of his father helping him learn how to knock, knock! I too missed out on learning how to shave, how to dribble, how to talk to the ladies and how to walk like a god from my papa—luckily my mom found lots of willing mentors and father figures who were able to be there for you some of the time.”

 

About

Glen Poole is Director of the Helping Men consultancy, UK co-ordinator for International Men's Day, host of the National Conference for Men and Boys and editor of the Good Men Project's International Men's Movement section. Follow him on twitter @HelpingMen or find out more about his work at http://helpingmenblog.blogspot.co.uk/

Posted in NEWS, World News On Men's Issues
5 comments on “Great Def Poem from a fatherless son
  1. sinbadking says:

    I am knock knock knocking on the wall of abuse isolation and authoritarian arrogance and prejudice my son is hidden behind, but my little hammer has no effect on the wall, it just bounces back at me ,breaking me down

  2. Wow, “Knock, Knock”, that’s incredibly powerful, I’m a tad speechless! Thanks for sharing that one Glen, I’ll be sharing that around, Keep up your awesome work!

    • glenpoole says:

      Great! It reminded me of the power of art – and personal stories – to communicate difficult issues in new ways – and what a healing poem – a young man reclaiming his lost relationship with his father and empowering himself as a man in the process! Good to hear from you. Glen

  3. [...] Finally if dads’ def poetry is more your thing – and even if it’s not –  check out this inspiring 3 minute YouTube clip here. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

